IMPORTANT NOTICE: At Fortis Healthcare, we are fully supportive of the National priorities set out by the Hon’ble Prime Minister of India. Further to the directives of the Government provided in their press release dated 8th Nov 2016, payments at Government hospitals can be made through 500 and 1000 Rupee denomination notes. In view of the hardship being caused to the large number of patients at private hospitals, we have made an urgent representation to the Government that this exemption should apply equally, for payments, at private hospitals. We are following up with the authorities and hope the Government will step in quickly to resolve this anomaly. Meanwhile, at Fortis hospitals across the country, we continue to accept payments through credit card, debit card and electronic banking transfers. As 500 and 1000 Rupee denomination notes are no longer legal tender we are only accepting 100 Rs and lower currency notes. As per Government regulation, a PAN card and legitimate ID proof is however required for payments in cash exceeding Rs 50,000. Meanwhile we continue to ensure that emergency cases get immediate medical attention without delay whatsoever and have put in more administrative staff and help desks to assist patients.

Doctor Profile

Dr. Ajay Kumar

Dr. Ajay Kumar, M.B.B.S

32+ Years Of Experience

Executive Director - Fortis Escorts Heart Institute & Research Centre, Okhla Road

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

OPD Schedule - +91 11 4713 5000

  • MBBS
  • MD
  • DM
  • MAMS
  • FRCP (Glasgow)

  • Indraprastha Apollo Hospital, New Delhi.
  • MCKR, New Delhi
  • B. Pant Hospital, New Delhi
  • PGIMER, Chandigarh
  • DMC Hospital, Ludhiana
  • DMH, New Delhi
  • SMH, New Delhi

He has been Honorary Secretary and President of SGEI. He has also been on governing body of ISG & Vice President of CCFI, Member OMED working committee on quality in endoscopy. He is life member of Indian society of Gastroenterology (ISG), Indian medical association (IMA), Society of GI endoscopy of India (SGEI), Indian association for the study of liver (INASL), Association of Physicians of India (API), American society of GI endoscopy of India (ASGE) (International member), Crohn's colitis foundation of India (CCF), European society of GI endoscopy (ESGE), American Gastroenterology Association (AGA), National medicos organization (NMO).

  • BC Roy award from President of India,
  • J Mitra Olympus award for Endoscopist of year by Indian Society of Gastroenterology, IMA NDB.
  • Award for contribution to medical education, DMA: Honour on Docotor's Day, East Delhi DMA- Distinguished service award,
  • Awarded membership of National Academy of Medical Sciences (MAMS), IJCP: IMA. Distinguished service award in Gastroenterology,
  • Awarded fellowship of Royal College of Physicians (FRCP) (Glasgow), Annual award for excellence.
  • Indian Academy of Medical Specialities, Vishisht Chikitsa Ratan Award, DMA on Doctors day. Second prize in Endo Video award competition. Video on endo management of Liver abscess. At SGEI, annual conference, Ahmedabad


  • Col BL Taneja Memorial Oration: DMA
  • SISCO Pentax annual oration of Society of GI Endoscopy of India
  • Prof KL Wig memorial oration of Delhi State chapter AIP.
  • II HN Khattari memorial oration. Mamta Medical college, Khamman, AP.

Renowned experienced clinician with special interest in pancreatico biliary disease, Luminal GE & advanced Therapeutic Endoscopy.