Dr. Subrat  Acharya

Dr. Subrat Acharya

Executive director
Fortis Escorts Heart Institute, Okhla Road Gastroenterology / Hepatobilliary Sciences

Request a call back

Doctor’s Profile

A senior Gastroenterologist and Hepatologist of National & International Repute with about 40 years of experience in the field. Dr Acharya was the head of Gastroenterology at the AIIMS, New Delhi from 2004 to 2016 and trained many Gastroenterologist.  He is one of the most noted and learned teachers in the field of Gastroenterology in India. 

Training & Professional Status:

Subrat Kumar Acharya obtained his MBBS from the MKCG Medical College, Berhampur University, Orissa with honours in Pathology, Ophthalmology , Otto-rhino- laryngology in 1974 and was adjudged as the best outgoing student .He did his MD (General Medicine,1980) from Utkal University, Orissa and DM(Gastroenterology, 1982) from the All India Institute of Medical Sciences(AIIMS), New Delhi. He joined the AIIMS, New Delhi as a lecturer in 1986 and became a Professor in 1997 and was working as the Head of the department of Gastroenterology at the AIIMS since 2004 till his super annuation on 31st October 2016. He was the Dean (Research), AIIMS, New Delhi from January 2015 till October 2016. After superannuation from AIIMS on October 2016, he is working as the Dean (Research), Fortis Hospitals Pro Chancellor of KIIT University, Bhubaneswar and as Emeritus Professor at AIIMS, New Delhi & Dean (Research) for Fortis group of hospital, India. He continues to be the J C Bose Fellow of Department of Science & Technology, Govt of India. He has been appointed as the president of the AIIMS, Bhubaneswar


  • Dr. Acharya is the Editor in Chief of ‘Tropical Gastroenterology’ an indexed and the highest cited journal in Gastroenterology from India. He also served as the Editor of Journal of Gastroenterology & hepatology from 2006 -2009 which is the official journal of the Asian Pacific Association of Gastroenterology. He was an Associate Editor to Liver International from 2012-2014.He remains to be in editorial board of many Gastroenterology and hepatology journals. He served as the Adviser to Armed Forces Medical Services on research and worked as a consultant to International Atomic Energy Agency to develop radio-isotopic treatment modalities for treatment of Primary liver Cancer. Dr Acharya is at present is the Chairperson of Academic Committee & member of the Governing body of the AIIMS, Jodhpur and the Governing body member of the VSS Medical College, Burla. He is also the member of the Science Engineering Review Board (SERB), Department Science & Technology, Govt of India. He has been also appointed as the Dean (Research) for the Fortis health Care group for India.  He has assisted ICMR in many PRC. AIIMS, New Delhi has appointed him as the life long Emeritus professor in Gastroenterology.

  • MD, DM, DSc, FNA, Fn A Sc, F A Sc

  • Dr Acharya is a recipient  of several awards notably: SR Naik Oration Award by Indian Association of Study of Liver(2010), PN Chuttani Oration award by Indian Society of Gastroenterology(2009), S R Ramachandran Oration by DBT(2017), V I Mathan Oration by Christian medical College, Vellore(2017), F P Antia Oration  by B Y Nayar Hospital, Mumabai (2017), Fellow of INSA(FNA, 2010), Ranbaxy research award(2007), Advanced Center for Liver Disease –ICMR(2005), Samanta chandrasekhar Award by Orissa Bigyan Academy(2005), Fellow of NASI, Allahabad(FNASc,2004), Fellow of Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore(F.A.Sc, 2000)),, Mitra Olympus Endoscopy award(1995), PN Berry Trust award(UK, 1991), Commonwealth Fellowship award(1991), Best Young Investigator award by the Australian Society of Gastroenterology(1980), Om-Prakash memorial award for best young Gastroenterologist by Indian Society of Gastroenterology(1990), remained President of Indian Society of Gastroenterology(2006-2008) and Indian Association for the study of Liver(2004-2006). Department of Science & Technology, Govt. of India recognizing his contribution awarded him “the J C Bose Fellow award in 2012 in which he is still continuing at the AIIMS, New Delhi. He was awarded ‘Padma Shree” by Govt of India in the year 2014.


Feedback Form